Skip to content

Free Audio Books or How Learned to Stop Worrying and Love My Local Library

April 30, 2016

I listen to a lot of audio books.  What started out as a way to help me get to sleep became a constant companion.  I listened to them when I drove, when I worked, while I did chores… Pretty much any time I had time to myself that didn’t require my full attention.  When I worked for the university, there were thousands of audio books to choose from in the library. There was a while there where I would go down the shelf in the fiction section and pick up anything that looked interesting.  Which for me pretty much covers any book whose description doesn’t start with “Former CIA agent Author McSelfinsert…” [1]

Now that I’m a stay at home mom, the library I have access to is considerably smaller.  In fact, I’m pretty sure that both floors of little public library here in town would fit in just one of the six floors of the main university library.  Then again, the university library didn’t have a weekly story time, either.  Or maybe it did and I just never knew about it.  Anyways.

I went to the library in part for the story time, and in part with the hope of picking up more audio books. Imagine how thrilled I was upon signing up for a library card to also get a card with information about Overdrive.

If you haven’t heard of Overdrive, let me tell you how awesome it is. It’s an app on your phone that is like having a pocket public library. It has both e-books and audio books. The only limit is what your own local library has access to at the time.  And if they don’t have what you’re looking for, you can do a search to see if it’s available in the Overdrive system and recommend your library pick it up.  Thus far, it’s taken anywhere from 2 days to 2 weeks to get a book I’ve recommended, but none have been denied.

There is the draw back that you only get to keep the books for two weeks before they expire.  And there’s no keeping it from going back into rotation if you’re not done with it. Which is no big deal if the book isn’t popular. You can just go back and check it out again.  But if it is… you may have to wait two weeks before you get it back again.  Or more. Fortunately the program saves your place and any bookmarks you have made.

The best part for me? The app has a sleep function.  So I can still use it for helping me get to sleep at night.  Whether or not it works all depends on the book.

~~~

[1] The book store I used to work for called these “Men’s Adventure” novels.  They always stared a ruggedly handsome former CIA agent who traveled around the world solving international terror plots and getting into bed with beautiful mystery women who may or may not have been spies for the KGB whose loyalties were swayed by the power of his penis.  This section was between “Horror” and “Romance.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

