Skip to content

The Hospital Bag

June 11, 2014

A friend asked about my hospital bag, so I figured I would post about it here.  I WAY over packed, so I will note the things I did and did not need as applicable.

Documents

  • Pre-reg forms – These actually got faxed in early, but I brought a copy just in case.  (ETA:  My doctor is affiliated with the hospital we used and gave us these forms.  Check with the maternity ward of the hospital you plan to use to see if they have something similar.)
  • Insurance Card – I also had a copy of my driver’s license on the off chance that I somehow wound up in the hospital without my purse.
  • Birth plan – I had intended to have several copies of this for the nurses and my doula, but only managed one.  Fortunately, it was also on my Google Drive.
  • Emergency Contact Info – In the birth plan.  Good to have, but wasn’t needed.
  • Notification phone list – Same as above.

Clothes for Me

  • Robe – I bought a nice light robe that packed up very small.  I wore it a lot.
  • Non-skid socks – The hospital provided me with some and I pretty much wore them everywhere.
  • Slippers – Sometime between the delivery room and the recovery room, I lost one.  I was sad.  I probably would have worn these more than the socks if I’d had both.
  • Sleep gear – I slept in my hospital gown.  Though next time I may take the time to convert the two sleep shirts I bought, because hospital gowns are itchy.
  • Underwear – I wore the hospital issue undies for the most part.  I will probably only pack one or two next time.
  • Nursing bra and pads – A must.  I probably could have left out the sports bras and packed more sleeping nursing bras.
  • Sports bras – See above.
  • Going home outfit – I wore this both on the way to the hospital, and on the way back when Moose had to take me to the emergency room because I couldn’t breathe.  So it did double duty!
  • Ballet flats – I could fit in exactly one pair of shoes by this point, so I probably could have left these out.
  • Comfy clothes – Again, I spent most of my time in my hospital gown.  These probably could have been left out.
  • Flip flops – I honestly can’t remember if I ever wore these.

Clothes for Baby

  • Booties
  • Hat
  • Scratch mittens
  • Bodysuits
  • Baby blankets
  • Going home outfit for baby – The hospital dressed Acorn as needed in loaner outfits, so this was the only outfit she actually wore while I was in the maternity ward.  I was glad I packed a short sleeve and a long sleeved outfit when the weather changed suddenly.  Of course all of the above was super useful when we wound up making the aforementioned trip to the emergency room.

Clothes for Hubby – I am fairly certain that I forgot to pack any of this.

  • Underwear
  • T-shirt
  • Socks
  • Pants

Toiletries for Me

  • Lip balm – Used it constantly.
  • Make-up – Used it twice.  Still grateful to have it, but I probably could have done with just my tinted moisturizer.
  • Shampoo – The hospital provided some, but I was still grateful to have my own.
  • Conditioner – Ditto above.
  • Facewash – Washing my face was THE BEST.
  • Toothpaste – Also provided, but still nice to have my own.
  • Toothbrush – Ditto above.
  • Soap – Smelling like my usual self after that first shower was GLORIOUS.
  • Lotion – This definitely came in handy.
  • Deodorant – Also glorious.
  • Hairbrush – Super long hair does not do well when bedridden.
  • Hair bands – I wore out a couple of these.
  • Glasses – I never actually wore these (that I recall), but they were nice to have.
  • Saline Solution – For obvious reasons.
  • Contact case – Ditto.
  • Heavy Flow sanitary pads – The hospital provided these, but they were useful to have at home when my water broke, and it was nice to know they were there.
  • Medications – The hospital actually required that they provide all of my medications, but I still probably would pack these just in case.
  • Tissues – Plenty of tissues in the room.
  • Bath Towel – The hospital provided tiny, tiny towels, but I didn’t have to worry about washing them.  So it was worth using the teeny towels.
  • Hand sanitizer – There were dispensers in the room, the hall, the nurses desk, the NICU, everywhere.

Toiletries for Baby – We used none of this.  The hospital provided diapers and a nasal aspirator, plus bunches of other baby stuff.

  • Baby wipes
  • Vaseline
  • Nail clippers
  • Nasal Aspirator
  • Newborn diapers

Food

  • Lozenges – Mints, ginger drops, and some hard candy.  Ate all three.
  • Dried Fruit – This was more useful for the people with me than for me.
  • Snack Bars – Ditto above.
  • Bottle and drink flavoring – The hospital gave us giant plastic cups with fancy lids and straws.  But the drink flavoring was nice to have.

Other

  • Nursing Pillow – Useful for baby and me!
  • Small change – Moose was very impressed by my forethought in packing this.
  • Camera – We mostly used our phones.
  • Notepad – Middle Sister gave me a nifty little moleskin for the shower gifts, and it was perfect.  I wrote down feedings, medications, everything.  Later, I bought Feed Baby Pro for my phone, which was just as useful.
  • Pen – For the notebook.
  • Book – I didn’t actually read my book.  Mostly if I needed something to do for a bit, I played with my tablet or my phone.
  • Baby book – This didn’t get used at all until I got home.
  • Cell phone charger – A must have.
  • Head phones – I listened to my audio books a bit, but mostly I fell asleep to them.
  • Gallon size ziplock bags (for dirty clothes) – I probably could have done with just some grocery bags.

For Later

  • Personal Pillow – It was very nice to be able to sleep on my own pillow.
  • Blankets – The hospital had plenty of blankets, and I didn’t have to wash them.
  • Car seat – Moose took care of this.  We actually bought it the night before, but that’s a story for another time.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

