Skip to content

Blood Meridian

April 30, 2014

Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy

Blood Meridian seems to be one of those books written solely to be about horrible people doing horrible things to other people.  Some of the other people are also quite horrible, but for the most part, it’s just innocent people getting killed for the hell of it.  It’s really not my kind of book and honestly if it hadn’t come as an audiobook with one of my Humble Bundles, I wouldn’t have finished it.  Even still, it took me a while to finish it because I avoided listening to it when I didn’t have anything else to focus on.

There isn’t really what you would call a “plot” for this book.  It’s basically about The Kid and his time spent with a group of mass murdering scalp hunters.  I am sure that there is an English Professor somewhere who would be thrilled to get a paper on the subject of The Judge as a personification of Lucifer, but I was honestly surprised that this book wasn’t on the Banned Book List for its considerable use of one particular racial slur which was probably historically accurate in its regular use, but was jarring nonetheless.

After having read The Road, listened to Blood Meridian, and read some of the reviews on Amazon of his other books, I’ve decided that I simply do not like McCarthy’s writing style.  So if you are one of those people who liked The Road, you may find Blood Meridian right up your alley.  As for me, I’m just going to cross him off of my “To Read” list.  There are far too many other books in this world to spend my time reading someone whose work I simply don’t like.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

