Skip to content

Found (The Missing, Book 1)

April 24, 2014

Found (The Missing, Book 1) by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Found was one of my Humble Bundle audiobooks, and thus far has been one of the better books in the lot.  The books starts off with a plane full of babies appearing out of nowhere and then skips forward 13 years to a pair of adoptees who get mysterious messages in the mail.  Most of the summaries online focus on Jonah and Chip as the two main characters, but Jonah’s sister Katherine plays a pretty large and important role throughout the book.  She’s not Hermione Granger, but she’s no Smurfette, either.

The characters are all quite well written, and the story clips along at a nice pace.  There are a few moments where I, as an adult, had my disbelief suspended a little too far.  However, since the book is aimed at the junior high crowd, I think that’s forgivable.  I was loving the book right up to the big reveal at the end… where it suddenly fell flat for me.  I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I was really disappointed.  Upon further consideration, I’ve decided that I actually do quite like the book, as a first book in a series.  It will be interesting to see where the second and third books go with the big secret.  I’ve decided to pick them up, along with a physical copy of the first book.  If they meet my expectations, I’ll pass them along to Eldest Nephew, who can always use a new series to read.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

