Skip to content

On the Subject of Selfies

April 11, 2014

I have a confession to make:  I love selfies.  Not of me, but of my friends.  I love seeing the faces of people who I don’t get to see in person very often.  When I see their smile, it makes me smile, and it makes my day a little brighter.

I can see where people get burnt out on those friends who spam their feed with nothing but pictures of themselves.  I think that applies to just about anything, though.  Too many political posts, too many “What character am I?” quizzes, too many Bitstrips, too much George Takei, hell, it’s even possible for there to be too many Someecards.  And I am all for mixing that up with memes calling for more art, more poetry, more music.  I just feel like people shouldn’t mistake those memes as somehow being more important or somehow more valuable than other memes.  They are by no means a better contribution to the ongoing social stream.  Just different.

There are lots of discussions out there which explore why selfies are bad, how they are degrading our culture or promoting narcissism.  At the other end of the spectrum are the discussions on how selfies are promoting female pride and empowerment.  Mix that all up with condemnation of our world leaders taking pictures of themselves at various political functions, the very pointed argument that guys are considerably less likely to be condemned for posting pictures of themselves, and the ingrained concept that selfies are somehow something that only immature females are actively participating in, and you have a whole lot of cultural entanglement that I honestly don’t feel qualified to analyze without considerably more time and effort than I am personally willing to put into a subject like this.

I suppose what I am trying to say is the same thing I said in the beginning.  I like seeing your faces.  I like seeing you smile.  If posting a picture of yourself makes you happy, then I am happy for you.  And if you don’t happen to be surrounded by friends willing to take pictures of you, and your best picture is one of you, arm outstretched, smiling into the backside of your phone, then I am happy for that, too.  Because at least I got to see your smile.  And it made me smile too.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 11, 2014 7:16 pm

    Well spoken! 🙂

Leave a Reply

