Skip to content

Blogging with baby

March 26, 2014

At this exact moment I am pacing up and down the hallway of my home. Acorn is fussy and strapped to my body. I am trying to get her to go to sleep. So I have taken up my habit of blogging via voice again.

I knew that working from home would be hard.  Everyone was very eager to describe to me how tired I would be. I was right in my assessment that I would go crazy lying around after a couple weeks. What I did not account for was the difficulty in making the technology of my job compatible with the challenges of my new role. Working with the baby bump was hard enough. But at least when the baby bump was hungry, I did not have to drop everything and spend 5 minutes setting up a nest in order to spend an hour fighting to feed her.

I am so grateful that my job is very flexible and there are still things that I can do with only one hand free. Moose and I are working on setups that will be better for me in the long run. But since I intend to return to the office soon, the long run is really not all that long.

Right now I am enjoying the more sedate pace of working from home.  At least when my coworker at home is upset with me, I know can just pop a boob in her mouth and get her to quiet down. Not exactly something I can do at the office.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

