Skip to content

Dystopian Burnout

May 2, 2012

So it’s been a while since I last posted while I exercise. In part this is because I have been reading while I work out. But to be perfectly honest, I haven’t been getting up to work out like I promised myself I would. Adjusting my workout to Moose’s plans makes my workout so much shorter and so much easier to justify missing. I think I am back on track though, so we’ll see how the rest of the week goes.

In the last few weeks I worked my way through Neuromancer, Snow Crash, all 3 Hunger Games books, and was starting in on Bladerunner when I realized that I was ready for something different. The only break that I had just given myself from these was Timeless.  Which is an excellent book, but even the wit of the glorious Gail Carriger couldn’t compete against the constant negativity of these distopian futures. For all the glitter and fancy technology of these futures, the world in which they are set is not very pretty nor very nice.

Yesterday, I started to wish that I hadn’t run so quickly through the Discworld novels. Though they have their own darkness to deal with, they are witty and uplifting in a way that you don’t often find in novels. While I enjoyed getting to share the experiences of Tiffany Aching with my fellow con goes at AggieCon, I wish that I had it saved at least one of those novels for later. I could really use the ever enjoyable cry of “Crivens!” to make me smile.

So I put down Bladerunner in favor of Watership Down. I am fully aware that this book is not all just fluffy bunnies. But I think it will give me a nice break from bleak and dismal futures for a while. After that, who knows. Maybe I will be ready for some urban fantasy. Or maybe someone will recommend some good candy reading. Until then, bunnies.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristan permalink
    May 2, 2012 2:30 pm

    Water ship down is dystopian in its own way. The repression of new ideas, and the stagnation that creates is what stuck with me from that book. Its been… Shit, almost two decades since I read it, so I may remember it wrongly. Maybe its time to re read it.

  2. Dana permalink
    May 24, 2012 10:10 pm

    Watership Down is a good book. But, also, no reason you can’t read a Discworld book again if you want to! Kudos for being able to read while exercising, btw…

Leave a Reply

