Skip to content

Banned Book Review: Pillars of the Earth

February 21, 2012

91. Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

Reason: sex scenes (Also, rape, murder, cussing, a woman peeing on a bible, and a few pretty graphically described battles)

I still remember the day the my middle sister handed me this book. We were going to visit our great-aunt in Dallas, and Mom had taken us to the bookstore to pick up some books to keep us occupied during our stay. My sister handed me the huge book, and said “It’s about a man who wants to build a cathedral.” I was doubtful, but figured it couldn’t hurt to try it. A few nights later, I was sitting next to my sister in my aunt’s guest bed, totally engrossed.

Pillars of the Earth is about a man who wants to build a cathedral.  It’s also about a family trying to survive in 12th century England, a monastic community trying to prevail against a corrupt aristocracy, a pair of orphaned children trying to regain their birthright, and a monarchy in doubt.  It’s a densely packed story of mostly accurate history, told in a much easier to read modern style.  Over the years I have given away or lost at least four copies, and currently have a copy on the bookshelf reserved for books that will never, ever get brought in for trade.

<–First <- Previous | Next ->

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kristan permalink
    February 21, 2012 4:15 pm

    When I first met my fiance, he bought me a copy. He had loved it and I had never read it. I liked it. It its written in an easy to read style, the characters are deeply fascinating, and the imagery its vivid, but not overwrought. I never even knew it was a banned book!
    I totally recommend it!

Leave a Reply

