Skip to content

A Letter To Students Regarding The Banned Book Reviews

February 16, 2012

Dear Students,

I know that school can be tough at times.  Sometimes, you get asked to do assignments that really suck, like having to read and review a banned book.  So you go looking on Google, and right there, on the first page, is this chick who reviewed a whole bunch of banned books.  Score!

I can usually tell when some teacher somewhere has assigned a particular book for review.  Within a few days, I’ll get a slew of incoming hits from people searching Google for “$name_of_book banned” [1]. Usually it will be the exact same book with slightly different search terms.  I don’t mind people using the Banned Book Reviews to help with their school work.  After all, it’s not like I wrote them to hide them from the world.  I do wish more people would leave comments letting me know what they think of the reviews and what they’re using them for, but that’s mostly because I’m curious about those sorts of things.

Here’s the thing: Your teachers, no matter what else you may think of them, are not stupid.  And I say that as someone who has had some remarkably idiotic teachers in my lifetime.  Someday, I’ll have to write up the story about one of my 9th grade science teachers.  Idiotic, however, does not automatically equal stupid.  Most teachers know that if they give an assignment, the first thing today’s students are going to do is hit Google or Wikipedia for the answer.  And if you think your teacher wasn’t cruising the Banned Book Reviews weeks before you were, I’ve got a bridge to sell you.

Research is hard.  Doing research on the Banned Book Reviews was particularly hard, especially the further down the list I got.  Finding this blog is not hard.  I understand that it’s tempting to just grab someone’s work and call it your own.  It’s still plagiarism, even if it’s just the ramblings of some chick you found on the internet.  Research sucks.  Getting a zero because your teacher is better at research than you are sucks even more.

Lurv,
Squirrel

[1] It’s a programming joke, look it up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2012 9:15 am

    I find this derply hillarious :-D.

Trackbacks

  1. Banned Book Review: Top 100 Banned Books of 2000-2009 « Crossed Wires

Leave a Reply

