Skip to content

Sticking to My Goal

January 23, 2012

The past few days have been very rough in the house of Moose and Squirrel. Moose is recovering nicely from his surgery. However, I have been getting up with him every four hours or so to make sure he takes his medicine. It has been a very long weekend for both of us. Despite that I am up this morning trying to stick with my goals. I was short on spoons all of last week and exercise is usually what gets sacrificed during those times. So even though I may regret it tonight, I am working to be good this morning.

It is one of those mornings that I was worried about when I first decided to make my goal. I spent most of the weekend playing Minecraft and listening to audio books. I have a general idea of what is going on in the world, but nothing specific that I feel like talking about this morning. It probably doesn’t help that I am tired and my mind is not as quick as it usually is. Not that I’m terribly quick before coffee anyways, but the exercise usually helps get my brain more engaged than this.

On the plus side, I went a whole week without talking about rape [2]. This will probably not hold true for the upcoming weeks. 40 days for life is starting up soon, the anniversary of Roe v Wade was this weekend, and I suspect that abortion and all of the complicated issues surrounding it are going to be foremost  in everyone’s mind for awhile.

I also have something tumbling around in my head about how we ignore the flaws of our idols, but that is something that is going to require a lot more research then I can manage while working out in the morning. [3] Besides I want to devote more time to the subject than the 45 minute workout allows. It took me several days to write The Magical Mind Changer, and I feel this topic deserves at least as much attention as that one.

Incidentally, if there is something you would like me to write about, I am always open to suggestions. I know that I still owe people Modern Bible translations, and I promise those are in the queue.

~~~~~

[1] The voice program refused to understand exhausted. Not a nice thing to do to a girl before her coffee.

[2] The voice program first translated this as Rick Perry. Which is equally as true, but not the point I was trying to make.

[3] You wouldn’t think that doing research would be all that difficult, but using a touch screen while also on an elliptical take enough coordination as it is. Trying to copy and paste links into a post would be a recipe for disaster. Usually if I want to add links to a post, I will add them after I am done working out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

