Skip to content

Moose Doesn’t Read My Blog

January 13, 2012

Moose doesn’t read my blog. It’s not just me, though. He doesn’t read any blogs. If it’s not on Google news or a tech website, he just doesn’t read it. He prefers to read things like “Fuck my life” and look at lolcats [1]. Blogs simply don’t interest him. If I want him to read something I’ve written, I have to point it out to him.

This is just one of the ways in which we are very different. Even though we both enjoy reading, I read considerably more then he does. He also listens to audiobooks, but not with the voraciousness that I do. I also tend to listen to audiobooks while I play Minecraft. Whereas Moose plays Star Wars in the evening and talks to his friends. This is one of the few areas in which he is more social then I am.

It doesn’t bother me that he doesn’t read what I’ve written. I know that if I need his opinion on something, all I have to do is ask. We may not always participate fully in each other’s hobbies, but we do try to be respectful of those hobbies. I tease him a lot about not wanting to watch my shows with me because every time he does come join me, he wants me to explain want all the characters are doing.

This is not a thing which came as easily as it seems. We have had a lot of conversations about being respectful of each others hobbies. Moose especially has made a lot of adjustments since the range of things he likes is so much narrower than mine. They say that marriage is about compromise, but leave off the part where it’s also about tolerance. I tolerate four hour sessions of Star Wars, and he tolerates me blaring P!nk while I cook.

We are not a perfect match. He is not my soulmate. But as Tim Minchin says, he falls within a bell curve. Those places where we have friction are gradually smoothing over and meeting in the middle. He may not be my soulmate, but he is my partner and best friend.

Moose doesn’t read my blog. But he is a part of it and that’s all that matters to me.

[1] The voice transcriber doesn’t understand Moose but does understand lolcat. Although I think it’s starting to get better at it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 9:53 am

    Oh yeah, I’ve long said that marriage is about finding someone whose crap you’re willing to put up with, and they’re willing to put up with yours.

Leave a Reply

