Skip to content

What I Did Last Year on This Blog

January 6, 2012

Last year I had an unofficial goal to write more on this blog. To that end I started writing about the books I was reading and some of the recipes I was working on. A lot of my recipes are based on my allergy problems. I know that I am not the only one with these problems, and I thought others might be interested in the recipes, too. I got several Google hits from people searching for my goat milk recipes, especially the cream of mushroom one. I have quite a few recipes like that, and I plan to be better about posting my experiments.

I thought that keeping track of the books I was reading would help me get a better idea of what I was reading each year. I lost track of that when I started listening to the Discworld novels. They were so short that I could sometimes listen to one in a single day. Still, I managed to read several books that were not Discworld over the course of the year. I am currently working my way through the NPR top 100 sci-fi and fantasy novels. One of these was A Clockwork Orange which I will probably do a review of later. It is something that I was dreading reading for similar reasons that I do not want to read The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. That aside, I know that I listened to and read at least 60 books last year, mostly Discworld novels on audio. If you get a chance to pick these up, I highly recommend them. The humor is sometimes very British, but there is also a lot of universally silly jokes too. They make doing chores go a lot faster.

Moose and I also did a bunch of restaurant reviews. We have a bad habit of eating at the same places every time we go out to eat. The restaurant reviews gave us a good excuse to trying new places in town. We got to try a lot of good new restaurants, but we also wound up eating at several really bad ones. We fell back into our restaurant rut in part because we are lazy and really just like going to places where we know I can eat the food. Every new restaurants is like a treasure hunt of trying to find food that won’t make me sick. Sometimes you score big, and sometimes all you get is sand.

On top of that, I tried to be better about posting things that were important to me. I got involved in a lot of political discussions that I realized I should refine and post on my blog. This was especially clear to me in the discussion that led to The People Outside the Fence. There was a high school girl I was talking to who told me that I helped her realize that even though she had decided that abortion was wrong for her, it was not her place to make that decision for others. Which is, in essence, what reproductive choice is all about. Acknowledging that even though you may know what is right for you and your life, you cannot truly know what is right for someone else. Especially a stranger making a hard choice on the inside of the fence.

I plan to write about all of these things and more this coming year. But for now I am almost done with my work out, so it is probably time to wrap things up. Things you’re probably glad the voice dictation doesn’t transcribe: the squeaking of the elliptical, my Pandora station playing Mozart, Gabe yowling at my Pandora station for playing Mozart, and the giant crash that was made when Gabe decided to be an asshole to Lil’bit and knock over things on Moose’s desk. Also, the diction program doesn’t understand the word “Moose.” Think it’s trying to tell me something?

Edited to add: Holding up my tablet to do voice dictation is about as hard on my hands as trying to type. I’m going to give it another go next week, but might also look into getting a thumb keyboard for my tablet and trying that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristan permalink
    January 6, 2012 8:35 am

    My tablet interfaces with my corded headphones/Mic combo. I use it to make notes when I watch my classes. That might provide a solution to the achy arms. Though, holding a tablet up like that is a great workout for the muscles that run on the backs of your arms. You could log it as a second workout. 🙂

    • January 6, 2012 8:48 am

      Honestly, I think I get a more well rounded workout trying to punch the keys. Holding up the tablet just makes my wrist hurt. I think the headphones that came with my new phone have a mic on them, I’ll have to check. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

