Skip to content

Speaking of Dolls

January 4, 2012

So I put off lunch time yoga today to play with the Google voice dictation. It’s not very easy to use. I have to speak very slow and clear to make it work. But that might be a good thing. It’s almost like typing in that it makes me think about the next word I’m going to say. Only drawback is that I don’t trust it enough to say a whole paragraph so I have to push the microphone button each time. I forgot to push it a couple of times and had to repeat a sentence.

~~~

I was thinking today about how I have promised my nieces I would get them American Girl dolls for their 8th birthdays. I thought it would be fun to make them clothes for their dolls so they could have clothes made just for them. This year for Christmas, I knit them all hats. This was easy because I could carry around my knitting in a little bag. It was hard because I don’t have a whole lot of time to knit. I started carrying around the knittin bag everywhere and even thought about attaching a carabiner to the bag so that I could knit wherever I went. Mostly I just wanted to be able to knit when Moose was doing things like picking out computer parts or plumbing supplies.

This is not something, however, that I can do with doll clothes. While I have made doll clothes in the past by hand, I think that it would require more time then I am willing to invest to make sets of doll clothes for each of my three young nieces. I am hoping to find some simple patterns that I can make very quickly on the machine and then embellish by hand later. I have lots of friends who collect American Girl dolls and I hope that they will help point me in the right direction.

When I was younger, I had a Barbie dress made from the same fabric that my mother used to make her wedding dress. I think she made it for one of my sisters, but it eventually came to me as the youngest child. I think that I must have given the dress away when I got rid of most of my other toys. I really wish that I had kept that dress, even though I no longer own any Barbies. I hope that my nieces will appreciate the doll clothes that I eventually make for them more then I appreciated the dress that my mother made for us. It is a silly hope, I know, but I like to think that my nieces are smarter than I was. I know in my heart that my nieces and nephews are all amazing, even the ones that aren’t blood related to me. It’s an aunt’s perogative to feel that and to make sure that the whole world knows. Especially the nieces and nephews.

~~~

So the dictation program seems to work pretty well. It definitely takes some getting used to. I have discovered that I don’t enunciate quite as well as I think I do. I think that it will be interesting to see how this goes when I’m breathing hard from using the elliptical. I suppose that we will find out together on Friday, won’t we?

Edited to add: It seems that the voice dictation likes to add random underlines. Something to keep an eye out for.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 2:36 pm

    Great post really enjoyed

Leave a Reply

