Skip to content

End Goals and Beginning Goals

January 2, 2012

Over two years ago, at 5:30 in the morning, I climbed aboard my squeaky elliptical for the first time and turned Netflix to Quantum Leap. It took a few months to get into a routine. My future husband, asleep in in the next room, hated the high pitched squeak  that the elliptical makes. Quantum Leap, though a childhood favorite, couldn’t hold my attention for the whole episode. But I had a goal and I was determined to make it. I didn’t have a pre-made wedding dress to fit into, but I did have a certain weight I wanted to be before the wedding and having the end goal drove me by far more than the basic desire to not have to buy new jeans. Through a combination of stern calorie counting, exercise, and a vicious determination to get my ass out of bed each morning, I dropped about 30 pounds.

The routine came at a price, though.  Making my own wedding dress was more stress than I imagined, and anyone who tells you that planning a wedding is easy is either lying, or considerably more organized than Moose and I. A few months short of the wedding, I gave up on both diet and exercise to better focus on the true end goal of throwing a big party for friends and family that just happened to include a wedding ceremony.

This morning, at 5:30 in the morning, I climbed aboard my squeaky elliptical again for the first time in over a year. My New Years resolution is both to exercise more and write more. So I decided to combine the two goals.  This entire post was written while working out. It’s been hard. I had to restart once when my notepad program, through some fluke of keyboard flubbing, decided to delete the whole thing halfway through the first paragraph. Each key press is a challenge of balance and hand eye coordination. But this is my goal, and I am determined to make a go of it. It may end some morning in YouTube worthy fail, but this morning? I made it. And that’s a pretty good start.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 2, 2012 7:30 am

    Hey, Neal Stephenson apparently got into playing WoW while on an elliptical so who knows.

    Although lord knows when I’m working out at the level I need to hit to lose weight, I have a hard enough time forming coherent thought besides “thissucksthissucksthissucks”. I think trying to type would end with many faceplants and forehead typing.

Leave a Reply

