Skip to content

How to Make Mango Chutney

June 11, 2009

Whew!  After those last two, the chutney is a breeze!

Photobucket

Materials

Cutting board
1 cup measure
Tablespoon measure
Large knife
Peeler
Grater
Deep sauce pan
Not shown:
Stove
Potato masher
Slotted spoon
Large glass bowl

Photobucket

Ingredients

8 ripe mangoes
2 cups brown sugar
1 tbs cayenne pepper
1 tbs fresh ground black pepper
1 tbs minced garlic
1 cup apple cider vinegar
1 inch piece ginger root, freshly grated

Oh hey, there’s the glass bowl from the materials list.  S’what I get for trying to do three things at once.  No really, I was making cheese, crackers, and chutney all at the same time.  If you look back over some of the other photos, you can see the edges of other pans.  This bowl got washed a lot.

There was also supposed to be jalapeños in here, but I completely forgot them, and my jalapeño plant isn’t producing yet.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Peel and chop the mangos, grate the ginger.  These are mostly here to show that yes, I really did peel and chop 8 mangos.  I didn’t mince garlic for any of these, because I’m a big damn cheater.

Photobucket

Throw it all in a pan, stir it around, and bring to a boil.  Then turn it down to low to simmer and cover.  Cook that for 30 minutes or so, then uncover and let it reduce.  Originally, I had only a single cup of brown sugar in here, but realized upon first taste that while this would be fine for Moose and I, I was going to need more sugar if Joe Judge was going to be tasting it.  So I added another cup.  Then I let that reduce to a nice syrup, and scooped the solids out into a bowl.

Photobucket

Despite all appearances, this is not a potato masher.  It is a MANGO MOOSHER!  Moosh, moosh, moosh until your chutney is all mooshed up.  Then add the syrup back in.  Stir it up, and then divide into four containers.  One for the judges, one for the friends, and two for the homestead.  Oh wait, that’s just me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

