Skip to content

How To Make Crackers

June 8, 2009

Photobucket
Photobucket

Shown here are the two best purchases from my Pampered Chef party.  My pasty mat, and my stoneware baking pan.  Both of which are OSSIM.  Despite trying to be as thorough as possible due to taking these pictures for an Amtgard competition, I still left shit out of these pictures.  What’s worse, is that in the goat cheese pictures, I did two batches over the course of two days and STILL forgot shit.

Materials

Large glass bowl
Medium glass bowl
1 Teaspoon measure
1 cup measure
1/3 cup measure
Rolling Pin
Pastry Mat
Stoneware baking pan
Oven
Not shown:
Small knife
Small cutting mat
Spatula

Photobucket

Ingredients

2 cups white flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp chopped fresh rosemary (straight out of my garden, woot)
2/3 cup hot water
1/3 cup olive oil

The original recipe called for a half teaspoon of salt, but Moose and I both agreed that it needed more.  My next experiment with this recipe will probably involve making cheese crackers.  I think I can substitute the oil and some of the flour for my goat cheese and make a decent dough.  We’ll see.

Photobucket

I added the garlic and rosemary to the hot water and gave it a little time to steep.  If you’re going to use dried herbs for this, I’d suggest doing this a bit beforehand, so that your herbs can rehydrate.

Photobucket

Throw all that stuff in a bowl and mush it around!  When you’ve got a mostly formed ball, dump it out on your pasty mat and knead that sucker until it’s silky, like bread dough.

Photobucket

It doesn’t look like much, I know, but divide it into two balls.  Unless you really *want* flour cookies, in which case have at it.

Photobucket

Roll out one of the balls into a thin sheet.  If you’ve ever done pizza dough, it’s pretty much the same process.  This is actually the second batch, as I forgot to get Moose to come over and take a picture of me rolling out the first batch.

Photobucket

Good thing, too.  Not the best sheet of dough I’ve ever rolled out, lemme tell ya.  You’ll want your sheet to be a little bigger than your pan, as the dough will contract a bit when you pick it up.

Photobucket

Once you have it in your pan, use your fingers to spread the dough out to the edges.  This was an adventure on the second batch, as the pan was still a little hot.

Photobucket

Use a small knife to cut your dough into squares.  Or you can cheat and use a pizza cutter to do the main parts, and just use your small knife to finish out the ends.

Photobucket

As you can see, the dough is already starting to pull away into squares.

Pop those suckers into your oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, and voila!  Homemade crackers!  The original recipe recommended adding an egg wash or spray of olive oil to the top, but I didn’t want them to be too greasy.  Take out the garlic and rosemary from this recipe, and you’ve got a pretty good base for making all sorts of crackers.  They’re pretty quick to make, and really tasty, too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

