Skip to content

Homemade Pasta!

April 6, 2009

Photobucket

My workspace, before the flour started flying.  Moose scrubbed the kitchen down and cleared out this corner especially for this effort.  Usually the coffee maker and the tea kettle (which you can just a corner of) reside over yonder, along with a whole bunch of other stuff that tends to build up there.  Here you can see the pasta maker, my collection of home defense weaponry (also known as my Good Knives), and my all new, very spiffy pastry mat.  My mother used to have one of these when we were younger, and I’ve been wanting one for years.

Photobucket

I forgot to take a picture of my “well.”  It wasn’t very exciting.  Just a mound of flour (3 1/3 cups) with fake eggs in the middle (1 cup or 4 eggs).  As you can see, the flour is already starting to migrate off of the mat.  In the background is my brand new Pampered Chef measuring cup, the old reliable measuring cups, and generic brand all purpose flour.  A finer flour probably would have been better, but I couldn’t find any.  Sad for me.  These dough balls are mostly kneaded.  I did a little more kneading as I rolled them out.

Photobucket

The first pass through the machine.  It has seven settings, and I wanted to be sure I was extra careful on the first batch, so so I used each and every one of them.  I experimented a bit on the second batch by using smaller balls of dough and skipping settings, which had about the same results.  The lines are from when I would stop and try to get a better grip on the dough or the crank.

Photobucket

Around setting 4, I wound up cutting the dough in half to make is easier to feed through.

Photobucket

Setting three or so.  The longer piece is from the lower setting, showing how much the dough stretches out in each new pass.

Photobucket

A picture of the dough being fed through the machine.  I was using the green cutting mat here to catch the dough and keep it from folding over onto itself.  As the dough came out, I’d adjust the mat a little further away.

Photobucket

Obligatory shot of the pasta being shredded.  As it turns out, this setting is for “spaghetti” sized pasta, which makes sense, but Moose really prefers angel hair.  It didn’t come out as smooth and pretty as I would have liked, but it’s pretty decent for a first try.  Check out my plate o’ pasta!

Photobucket

Giant pile of cooked pasta!

Photobucket

The finished meal.  I did a goat butter, lemon juice, garlic, and white wine sauce to accent the fresh pasta flavor.  A pile of fresh shredded goat cheese on top adds a nice sharp compliment.  Not very fancy looking, but super tasty.

The end results wound up looking very much like ramen noodles, which is okay.  I can’t wait to experiment with different colors and flavors.  Moose is of the opinion that we should get a drying rack and just have a day where I make pastas.  I think I’m going to need a mixer before that happens.  Kneading dough sucks.  Although, he’s volunteered to do the kneading for me, so I may take him up on that offer.  😀

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

