Skip to content

Banned Book Review: Alice (series)

October 21, 2005

10. Alice (series) by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

Reason: Banned for sexual content, using offensive language and being unsuited to age group.

When I first started this project, I was determined to go into them with an open mind.  I didn’t look up the reason for the book being banned until after I had read them.  And for the first two books in this series, I honestly couldn’t understand why they had been banned.  Then I got to the third one and it clicked.  The main character has frank discussions with adults about sex, menstruation, and other things that young girls that age are curious about.  A lot of the misconceptions that I remember when I was that age are explored and brought to light.  In creating a character that lacks guidance from a mother, Naylor allows for the advice to come from many different sources and shows the character coming to her own determination about how life really is.  The idea that these stories aren’t suited to the age group is absurd.  I truly wish that I had been given these books to read when I was in 6th grade.  Then at least I might have come through junior high with fewer scars.

<–First <- Previous | Next ->

Leave a Reply

