Skip to content

Banned Book Review: Harry Potter Series

October 18, 2005

7.  Harry Potter (series) by J.K. Rowling

Reason: Promotes witchcraft and sorcery

If you haven’t heard of the Harry Potter series by now, you need to get out from under your rock.  They follow the adventures and schooling of a young boy who discovers that he is actually a wizard, and that his name is famous in the wizarding world.  The irony of the religious war over these books is that religion and the belief in a god of any type plays little to no role in these books.  The basic stories involve fighting against evil, dealing with stereotypes, racism, and oppression.  The character fight against evil in its many forms and generally triumph.  Amazon sets the recommended age at 9-12 but the books are enjoyable for teens and adults as well.

<–First <- Previous | Next ->


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: